Blog for IAS aspirants

Strategy for Economics by Ms Harshika Singh (AIR-8)

In Uncategorized on July 4, 2012 at 02:29
Vote of Thanks

Ms. Harshika epitomizes the adage- that the higher you go, the more humble you should become. I requested her for a write-up on Economics and I learnt that she herself has a blog to help civil service aspirants. She promptly mailed me the Strategy from her blog and has kindly given me the permission to reproduce it here. I thank her for the same. Being, an alumni from LSE, I feel her tips would be very helpful to all of us. She will try and reply to any queries you post but please bear with the delay in her responses. You can also email her at harshikasingh2012@gmail.com I thank her on behalf of all the candidates once again.

 Strategy for Economics


Why Economics?
My Background in Economics and the  interest in the subject  was the most obvious reason for Economics as my first optional. I am B.A Economics(Hons) from St.Xavier’s College ,Ranchi (Jharkhand) and MSc.Economic History from London School Of Economics and Political Science,London,UK.

The Comprehensive list of the books that I followed was 

For both my optionals ,I emphasized on making my concepts very clear and re-read the textbooks.I read all the books enumerated below-different books cater to different portions of the syllabus so I have enumerated all of them…

For Paper 1 

Microeconomics
Ahuja and Koutsyansis
Macroeconomics
Ahuja
Mankiw
International Economics
Salvatore basically
and for some random parts
M.C Vaish
Public finance
Lekhi
Dalton
H.L Bhatia
Money and banking-
S.B Gupta
Ahuja
RBI website
 
For Growth and Development ,I followed Mishra and Puri .There is another book by Lekhi (this book covers the syllabus so it is bit handy)/Debraj Ray-Development Economics .I extensively used Internet for some new developments in same. 


Paper 2 

Indian Economy   from
Dutt & Sundaram
Mishra & Puri
Uma kapila
Extensive study of the Economic Survey
Union Budget
EPW (Economy and Political Weekly)
Any one business newspaper like ET/FE etc
The Economist
 
 
 
In this attempt which was my second attempt I just followed the basic textbooks that are taught in most of the Indian Universities but in general I also kept myself updated with new textbooks and relevant study materials available on Internet of some renowed Universities around the world.

I took study materials from Brilliant Tutorials in my first attempt andRAU’s IAS Academy ,Delhi for my second attempt.This helped me to systematize my preparation according to the syllabus.

Answer Writing-In Paper 1 , I just ensured that my concepts were clear.Here I would like to admit i felt I had done relatively well in paper 1 but landed up with just 133 marks so maybe I faltered  in some way. Hence for Paper 1 , I would recommend to also go through  the strategy for the same followed by Neeraj Kumar Singh(AIR-11) who also has the highest  marks in Economics optional this year. In Paper 2- I tried to substantiate my answers with adequate data’s and if possible tried to relate the said question to some recent instance /current affairs issue like this year there was a question on MNREGA rural wage hike and agriculture sector(issue on similar lines were in the news recently) .
Economics is my passion so I never considered this as just a subject per se. I enjoyed my economics preparation and religiously followed the day to day developments in world Economy/Indian Economy through Internet /newspapers and News channels.
  1. Dear Sir
    Miss Riar had political science as one of her options. Can you please ask her to put up a post on how she prepared for it?

  2. hello prince…
    can u pls arrange for some guidance for commerce optional.
    thanks in advance..

  3. Hi Prince Sir.

    Firstly I would like to congratulate you for getting through CSE in ur maiden attempt.
    Secondly I would like to thank u for starting this blog. It is really helpful. Every time I read ur blog I get something new to learn.
    Thirdly I would request you to share the strategy for commerce optional( as somewhere in ur blog u hv mentioned that u r trying to get it), as u hv managed to do for some other optionals.

    Thanks & Regards.
    Gurpreet Singh

  4. Hi Prince, can you please also upload strategy for commerce optional?

  5. Thnks Harshika..

  6. sir i m ba programe 1st year student . 1) i m concentrating on my humanities (eco,pol.sci.) of graduational level. 2) one pratiyogita darpan monthaly 3)hindu news paper. r these sufficeint at these moment. if i give 6 months each for optionals and gs from 2014 as i have to give civil exams 2016 , is this correct approach. please anser prince sir. thanks alot.

    • I have already explained what to refer for GS. An article on this subject has also been written by Ms. Rukmani Riar. I think you can use those as guiding tips and self-evaluate your preparation.

  7. @harshika..first of all cngratulatns…hw v hv 2 read d busines paper..is edtrl n opinion page s enough or v hv 2 go through entre nwspaper..do u thnk ind eco spcl edtn s useful for paper 2 of economics..?

    • Hello Ratheesh.Thanks for the wishes. As far as business newspaper is concerned, i would suggest that while reading it , ensure to read those portions from which you expect questions in Indian Eco…obv read the headlines , editorials and important news items related to Indian economy and world economy…you can definitely skip portions like those relating to corporate news etc(unless they are very imp like those relating to Vodafone case, GAAR etc)..In fact while reading any business newspaper, if you feel you can use any news article as part of your answer in Economics ….read that portion intensively and make a note of it. Indian Economy special editions can be used as supplementary readings for paper 2. Hope this helps.All the best for all your endeavors.

    • Hello Ratneesh. Thanks for the wishes. As far as reading Business newspaper is concerned,i would suggest initially start reading the newspaper with open mind..paying special emphasis on Headlines , editorials, and all the news article on Indian and world economy..You can skip the Corporate news section unless its very important(like the Vodaphone case,GAAR etc)..and if you feel you can use the information in a particular newsitem as a part of your answers ..read that portion intensively and make a note of it..Hope this helps.All the best for all your endeavors.

  8. sir can u plzz share strategy for geography also..
    and answer writing tips..

  9. Sir,
    can pls provide link to blog’s of other toppers, those which u know about.

  10. Hi Mr.Prince,
    Pls provide the link to Ms.Harshika Singh’s Blog.

Leave a Reply

